CARBONELL AWARDS Previews Ceremony at Lauderhill Performing Arts Center

By: Press Release
CARBONELL AWARDS Previews Ceremony at Lauderhill Performing Arts Center

Carbonell Awards Celebrate 2021-2022 Theater Season

with Ceremony at Lauderhill Performing Arts Center

Monday, November 7, at 7:30 p.m.


Awards will be presented in 20 Competitive Categories

and Nine Theater and Arts Legends Will Be Honored


For its first in-person ceremony since April 2019, the Carbonell Awards—South Florida’s Theater & Arts Honors—promises “a truly joyous celebration packed with music, laughter, and applause as we recognize talented members of our theater community for shows produced in Broward, Miami/Dade and Palm Beach Counties during the 2021-2022 season,” according to Carbonell Board President Gary Schweikhart.

At this year’s event, 126 different nominations in 20 competitive categories are shared by 98 talented people, 36 extraordinary productions, and 16 South Florida theaters. Winners are determined by a diverse group of 30 experienced judges.

Left to Right: Geoff Short, Daniel Llaca, Caryl Fantel, Avery Sommers

Highlights of the upcoming Carbonell Awards ceremony on November 7 at Lauderhill Performing Arts Center include:

+ Three talented co-hosts: Miami-based theater, film, and TV actor Daniel Llaca; actor, singer, and director Geoff Short, board president of the Pembroke Pines Theatre of the Performing Arts and board secretary of the Carbonell Awards; and Carbonell board member Avery Sommers, award-winning Broadway, movie and TV veteran, and cabaret headliner.

COME OUT! COME OUT! from Ronnie Larsen Presents, nominated for Outstanding New Work, Play or Musical (Photo provided by Ronnie Larsen Presents)

+ Performances from Carbonell-nominated musicals and actors, including

  • Area Stage’s Beauty and The Beast with nominees Frank Montoto, Michelle Gordon, Katie Duerr, Maxime Prissert, John Luis, Imran Hylton, and others in the cast.
  • Come Out! Come Out! from Ronnie Larsen Presents will be represented by performer Larry Toyter, accompanied by Musical Director Bobby Peaco, with choreography by Oren Korenblum.

+ Presentation of two George Abbott Awards for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts to internationally acclaimed composer and conductor Michael Tilson Thomas, co-founder and Artistic Director Laureate of the Miami Beach-based New World Symphony; and Barbara & Lawrence E. Stein, the founders of Actors’ Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre, Miami-Dade County’s premiere producer of large-scale musicals, which will celebrate its 35th season in 2022-23.

+ Presentation of the first Vinnette Carroll Award for significant achievement in advancing the cause of diversity, equality, and inclusion in South Florida theatre. The recipient is Marshall L. Davis, who has served for 38 years as managing director of the African Heritage Cultural Arts Center (AHCAC) in Miami’s Liberty City.

+ Presentation of five additional special awards to living theatre and arts legends:

  • The Charlie Cinnamon Award to longtime newspaper/radio critic and Carbonell judge Hap Erstein.
  • The Ruth Foreman Award to actor, producer, director, poet and educator Teresa María Rojas, founder and director of Prometeo at Miami Dade College.
  • The Bill Hindman Award to Margot Moreland, one of South Florida’s best-known actors and a principal representative on the Council for Actors’ Equity Association for more than 20 years.
  • The Howard Kleinberg Award to playwright, dramaturg and co-founding artistic director of Lost Girls Theatre Andie Arthur, who is also executive director of the South Florida Theatre League.
  • The Bill Von Maurer Award for Theatrical Excellence to Theatre Lab, the professional resident company at Florida Atlantic University, whose mission is to “inspire, develop and produce new work, artists and audiences.”

+ The nomination of Michelle Gordon for Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Lead Female Role, Musical for Beauty and the Beast. This may be the first time in Carbonell history when the actor cast in the role (Yarden Barr), who missed opening weekend due to COVID, and her understudy (Gordon) are both nominated in the same category.

+ A stirring In Memoriam tribute to nearly 30 theatre veterans who passed away during the last two years, including actors Linda Bernhard and Peter Librach, critics Ron Levitt and Terry Teachout, music directors Arthur Barnes and Paul Reekie, and producers Alvin Entin and Jan McArt.

+ Presentation of Jack Zink Memorial Scholarships ($2,000 each) to Kaja Andric (Palm Beach County), Emily Taylor Kaufman (Broward), and Antony Ojeda (Miami-Dade).

In the 20 competitive categories, Miami New Drama topped the list of theatres with 24 nominations, followed by Area Stage (16), Slow Burn Theatre Company with 15, Ronnie Larsen Presents (13), Actors’ Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre, and Palm Beach Dramaworks with 12 each, and Zoetic Stage with 11.

THE CUBAN VOTE by Miami New Drama with Andhy Mendez, Carmen Pelaez, Kristian Bikic, by Stian Roenning (Photo Credit: Stian Roenning)

Area Stage’s Beauty and the Beast was the production earning the most individual nominations (15), with Miami New Drama earning nine for A Wonderful World, and seven each for Papá Cuatro. and The Cuban Vote.

  A WONDERFUL WORLD from Miami New Drama, with Gavin Gregory and company, is nominated for nine Carbonell Awards (Photo Credit: Stian Roenning)

The 45th Annual Carbonell Awards will be presented at an entertainment-packed ceremony on Monday, November 7, at 7:30 p.m. at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center at 3800 NW 11th Place, Lauderhill, FL 33311. Tickets are only $32 each (including facility fee) and are available for purchase by calling 954.777.2055 or going online to

Sponsors of the 45th Annual Carbonell Awards include the South Florida Cultural Consortium, Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, Aventura Arts & Cultural Center, Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Carbonell Sculptures Ltd., Cultural Council for Palm Beach County, John Knox Village, Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, Miami-Dade County Auditorium, The Dennis C. Moss Center (formerly The South Miami-Dade Cultural Arts Center), Punchline Productions, South Florida Theatre League, and Donald R. Walters, P.A.

INTIMATE APPAREL, nominated for Outstanding Production of a Play at Palm Beach Dramaworks with nominee Rita Cole (Photo Credit: Jason Nuttle Photography)

About The Carbonell Awards

The Carbonell Awards fosters the artistic growth of professional theatre in South Florida by celebrating the excellence and diversity of our theatre artists, providing educational scholarships, and building audience appreciation and civic pride by highlighting the achievements of our theatre community. More than 20 professional theatre companies in Broward, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach Counties participate in the awards process every year. The Carbonell Awards also celebrate the accomplishments of local artistic leaders by presenting various Special Awards.

Along with New York’s Drama Desk and Chicago’s Joseph Jefferson Awards, the Carbonell Awards are among the nation’s oldest regional arts awards and predate others, including Washington, D.C.’s Helen Hayes Awards. The Carbonell Awards are named after the internationally renowned sculptor Manuel Carbonell, who designed the signature solid bronze and marble award given annually to Carbonell Award winners. Over the last 45 years, the Carbonell family has donated more than $250,000 in awards. For more information, please visit

Click here for Theater Performances.

Love Culture?

Tell a Friend Owl

Invite & Connect with Friends on CultureOwl!

Tell a Friend Owl