Please sign in to like the event
Tesoro; Pepe Mar’s Love Letter to the Frost

New Beginnings — Frost Symphony Orchestra

Sat 09/24/2022

Charles N. Mason: Solace,
Paul Schoenfeld: Klezmer Rondos
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 1 in C minor

In the season opening concert of the Frost Symphony Orchestra, we feature three faculty members of the Frost School of Music. With Solace, composed for Gerard Schwarz and the Frost Symphony Orchestra, Charles Mason adds an element of peacefulness or solace to his characteristic frenetic and rhythmically-driven style. Mason invited the listener to contemplate the beauty of sound while living in a modern world of hyperconnectivity.

Paul Schoenfeld is a living American composer known to combine popular and folk music with classical forms. Jennifer Grim and Frank Ragsdale are soloists for Schoenfeld’s Klezmer Rondos, which invokes the spirit and culture of European Klezmer music. The program concludes with Johannes Brahms’s C minor symphony, sometimes jokingly dubbed as “Beethoven’s Tenth.” Brahms took over twenty years to complete what is truly a masterwork of the repertoire.

SAT / SEP 24, 2022 / 7:30 P.M.
UM Gusman Concert Hall
$20 $16 $10

Price $20 $16 $10

Time 7:30 PM

Venue UM Gusman Concert Hall

Address 1314 Miller Dr
Coral Gables, FL 33146 GET DIRECTIONS

Phone Number (305) 284-2400

Tell a Friend About CultureOwl!

Tell a Friend Owl